The Enneagram is a system of personality which describes people in terms of 9 types, each with their own motivations, fears, and internal dynamics.

The Enneagram is an emotionally focused system of understanding people. Each of the nine types of the Enneagram has its own driving force, which is centered around a particular emotion. Some types experience strong emotions, while other types aim to avoid emotions in one form or another. However, whether running from emotions or diving into them, each type describes some aspect of emotional experience.

The nine types of the Enneagram are divided among Heart Types, Head Types, and Body Types. Heart types depend on their emotional intelligence to understand their own reactions and connect with others. Head types depend on their intellectual intelligence to make sense of things and navigate the world around them. Body types depend on their instinctual intelligence to follow their "gut" and respond to threats and opportunities.

The Heart Types of the Enneagram

Heart types react with emotions first. They connect with other people on an empathetic level, and make sense of the world by understanding their feelings about it.

Type 2

The Giver

Twos want to be liked and find ways that they can be helpful to others so that they can belong. Read more about Twos.

Type 3

The Achiever

Threes want to be successful and admired by other people, and are very conscious of their public image. Read more about Threes.

Type 4

The Individualist

Fours want to be unique and to experience deep, authentic emotions. Read more about Fours.

The Head Types of the Enneagram

Head types react with analysis first. They connect with other people on an intellectual level, and make sense of the world by understanding the systems and theories that underlie what they observe.

Type 5

The Investigator

Fives seek understanding and knowledge, and are more comfortable with data than other people. Read more about Fives.

Type 6

The Skeptic

Sixes are preoccupied with security, seek safety, and like to be prepared for problems. Read more about Sixes.

Type 7

The Enthusiast

Sevens want to have as much fun and adventure as possible and are easily bored. Read more about Sevens.

The Body Types of the Enneagram

Body types react with an instinctive, gut feeling. They connect with other people based on their physical sense of comfort, and make sense of the world by sensing their body's reaction to what is happening.

Type 8

The Challenger

Eights see themselves as strong and powerful and seek to stand up for what they believe in. Read more about Eights.

Type 9

The Peacemaker

Nines like to go with the flow and let the people around them set the agenda. Read more about Nines.

Type 1

The Perfectionist

Ones place a lot of emphasis on following the rules and doing things correctly. Read more about Ones.